Back home

Back home

I took a well deserving break in London, and I decided not to write as you may have noticed. I need to enjoy the moment and re-charge, and working on not being ‘online’ all the time. I’ve noticed that all these social media’s, especially snap, instagram and Facebook, which you are suppose to have, are stressing me out. I read about this the other day and it said that it is the routine you’ve made through these apps that make you addicted. For instance, you have to check your phone when you wake up, and it’s part of your morning routine. I tune in to snapchat, instagram and Facebook because I think that I’ve missed something while I was asleep. I take my phone everywhere, it’s become my safety blanket. If I think I’m being noticed or watched out on the street, I take my phone out and act as if I’m scrolling down to read something important. I take it with me to bed, to the bathroom and I can’t remember a day I went without it.

It’s scary, being addicted. Even though we think it’s harmless, I think it’s destroying our image of people today. We strive to be perfect, and we think everything is picture perfect. Then when an obstacle comes we do not know what to do, thinking we are the only once experiencing it. This has made me consider to delete my social media and not being pushed or forced to check it all the time. Maybe this will give me an inner peace.

Elizabeth

Leave a comment