A woman in hijab

You may think I’m oppressed by the way you stare at me. That I’m not free to make my own decision. Maybe you think I’m forced to cover up my beauty.
I guess it bothers you that I choose what to show and withhold from the world. But the truth is that a veil like the hijab represents so much more then what you see.
We don’t lie or steal, drink or smoke. We think before we talk and watch our tongue.
We choose to wear it, to be among the best of people.
I hope one day you can see past my veil and see who I truly am. Because my freedom is not determined whether I show my hair or flaunt my body. And remember that the hijab represents so much more than a cover to your hair.

Elizabeth
Leave a Reply

